Anthony & Miki Field discuss their new son, being parents of three & more kids!

October 16, 2007 at 10:35 pm 31 comments

Wiggles star, Anthony Field and wife Miki have had a busy couple of years since their marriage in May 2003. Lucia, aged three-and-a-half, was conceived on their wedding night. Her sister Maria was born in 2005 — the same day that Anthony’s beloved Wests Tigers won the Rugby League premiership, and baby number three Antonio Carlos Field arrived on April 13 this year, at Sydney’s Royal Prince Alfred Hospital, weighing 3.5kg. Even though we had a sneak peek at Antonio on the day he was born, last week the couple invited Woman’s Day into their home to share their thoughts on parenthood and posed for some gorgeous photos.

You’re not doing badly for a couple who feared you’d never have children, are you?
Anthony:
It’s amazing. Miki had severe endometriosis and only a month before our wedding, she was in hospital trying to get it all fixed up. We didn’t know if it would ever be possible for us to have kids. We thought we’d have too many fox terriers forever, but that changed pretty quickly.
Miki: We are blessed. After Antonio was born, Anthony got a tee-shirt with “I make good babies” written on the chest!

Were you there for the birth Anthony?
Anthony:
Yes, I was there and it was a little bit better than Maria’s, which traumatised me for many a month. I went on the road two-and-a-half weeks later, and didn’t have time to get it out of my system. So this time was better.
Miki: For some! With Antonio, I started to feel contractions at 7pm and he arrived at 10pm. Ouch! Maria’s was a very fast labour as well, but she was born with the umbilical cord wrapped around her neck. They had the respirator all ready to go, which was awful. Her heart rate really slowed down and she had a terrible time, poor love. She deserves a little tiara.

How did you come up with the name Antonio Carlos?
Anthony:
Well, St Anthony is the patron saint of lost things – not lost causes – and my mum prays to him all the time when she loses something. I was named after him and people often call me Antonio as a laugh. I think it’s a nice name.
Miki: It’s a fun name. He’ll charm the girls with it!
Anthony: And Carlos Gardel was the king of tango. I love his music. He died in 1930 but to anyone in the Latin world, he’s as big as Elvis. We were in Houston last year and this lady who interviewed us, her husband was Antonio Carlos and her daughter was Lucia and she was Maria. It was fantastic! She asked where in the Latin world I came from and I said Australia. I think our Antonio Carlos is going to confuse many people over the years.

Who does Antonio take after?
Miki:
He looks like Anthony, especially when he cries.
Anthony: I don’t know if it’s just a baby thing, but he smiles day and night like my dad. Most babies are happy I think, unless they have medical problems.

Is it nice to have a little Blue Wiggle after two girls?
Anthony:
Boy or girl, it didn’t really worry us, but it’s nice to have a boy. I make no secret of the fact that I wouldn’t mind him playing Rugby League for the Wests Tigers one day.
Miki: No way! Gym or soccer is as far as it goes.
Anthony: Well, if he does gym and soccer he’ll be very light on his feet like [Tigers player] Benji Marshall. If Antonio wants to do ballet, he can do ballet. I don’t want to be sexist about any of it. I take the girls fishing and Lucia went to her first League game with us the other day. She loved it, all the razzamatazz. The day Maria was born in 2005, the Tigers won the Premiership. Miki and I were driving a victory lap through Balmain with a huge flag, just before she went into labour.

How does Miki cope when you’re often away on tour?
Anthony:
It’s really hard for her being left alone with three children, of course. We have help from my Aunty Maureen and a dear friends of the family. But at nights, Miki is breastfeeding and might have two other children crying, while I’m living the high life in Chicago or wherever. Not really! I’m actually on a bus driving for about 10 hours to get to the next gig. But I miss out on a lot.
Miki: It’s difficult, but thank God for modern technology; we see each other online and talk to each other on the phone all the time.
Anthony: You have to keep in touch or it’s “Danger, danger!”

Is Anthony helpful when he’s at home?
Miki:
He’s wonderful. He entertains the kids and he’s great at changing nappies.
Anthony: But I put them in clothes that don’t match.
Miki: I don’t let them out of the door when he’s dressed them! If they’re staying at home, it’s fine.

Has having children of your own made you a better Wiggle?
Anthony:
Totally. I was an early childhood teacher, but even that’s different from having your own kids. I think The Wiggles have become more inclusive of the girly world. We’ve got more fairy tales and princesses. We used to be more about pirates and boy things, like Captain Feathersword. So my family has probably inspired me to be more encompassing of things that would appeal to girls.

What’s their favourite Wiggly thing?
Anthony:
Dorothy the Dinosaur! Maria loves Jeff (the Purple Wiggle) too. I don’t get a look in, but that’s cool.

What kind of a father are you?
Anthony:
I think I’m a dad who just keeps trying his best and realises his limitations. Children are very demanding and you can’t always give them the answers, although you want to. Sometimes they stump me and I just don’t know what to say; sometimes I don’t know how to console them when they’re upset. But I try to be an honest dad. I keep learning lessons from the children as well, which is good.

Do your children know how famous you are?
Anthony: It doesn’t mean anything to them, especially at their age. We get recognised and people come up to talk, but it’s always positive. It’s just part of our daily life. I certainly don’t get a big head over it. You still have to be a nice person, no matter how famous you are, and I hope my kids will realise that.

Will they follow in your footsteps?
Anthony: If they want to dance or sing, fantastic, but we don’t want to push them in any way. At home, we try to encourage them to be whatever they want to be, do whatever they want to do, because it’s very entertaining. Lucia is a classic girly girl; she dances all day on her toes.
Miki: There’s always something going on. It’s never boring. I think all three of them will be entertainers — although Maria loves the smell of my coffee, so you never know.

Would you like to have more children?
Anthony: In front of Miki I can’t really say but, you know, they’re so beautiful. I hope Miki doesn’t read this article! Ask her and she will say, “Aaaaaargh”.
Miki: No comment.

Anthony: I know she needs a break, I do know. But I’m one of seven kids …

Source: Woman’s Day, October 15 2007, pg 44-48.

Click KEEP READING for another four images.

Entry filed under: Bub News, Bubs Out and About. Tags: , , , , .

Isla Fisher and Sacha Baron Cohen go shopping Dominic Purcell and kids at the park

31 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hollywoodheidi  |  October 19, 2007 at 10:51 am

    Hi! I just found this forum and it looks really cool.

    Now, I gotta run off and read some posts. :)

    Reply
  • 2. Angela  |  October 19, 2007 at 1:27 pm

    What a beautiful family! Yes Anthony, you do make good babies! =o)

    Angela

    Reply
  • 3. Amy  |  October 19, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    My kids love the Wiggles, and we all have our favorites. Anthony is mine.

    I must say that I agree…..Anthony, you DO make beautiful babies! Congrats on the wonderful family, and thanks for what you and your fellow Wiggles do for children (and parents) around the world!

    Reply
  • 4. sandy  |  October 20, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    These two amaze me everytime i read an article theyve sat for as to how well they match each other. Never a disparaging remark about each other always positive reinenforecment from both of them, they have a wonderful family and deserve all of it, good job Anthony & Mikki.

    Reply
  • 5. Bonnie  |  October 20, 2007 at 4:27 pm

    The Field family is beautiful and amazing, and I thank them for all each of them, in their own way does for OUR children. Thank you, Miki, Lucia, Maria and Antonio for letting us share Anthony’s energy, talents and innate goodness!

    Bonnie

    Reply
  • 6. Yolanda Guitar  |  March 29, 2008 at 9:29 pm

    I am so very happy for all of you. Having a child is the best gift that anyone can have. I have two miracle babies of my own. I had my tubes tied after I had my son in Feb 2004, he passed away from SIDS in June 5 weeks later I had surgery to reverse the tubal ligation.

    After that I had two tubal pregnancies, I still kept on trying and was blessed with a little girl in September of 2006, I am now pregnant with another. This will make number 3, I already have a 6 year old girl.

    I thank you and the Wiggles for the work that you have done for SIDS in Australia, I have read about your personal tradgedy with ‘SÏDS, I just wish we had more awareness here in Canada.

    God Bless and take care

    Yolanda

    Reply
    • 7. shawnna taylor  |  April 12, 2012 at 9:42 am

      Very well said. My family has been affected by SIDS ALSO. Very inspirational. God bless everyone

      Reply
  • 8. amanda mckee  |  June 14, 2008 at 2:52 am

    isnt this just a lovely family.everyone is so happy and im sure as a mother of three children 5 and under its hard work but its all worth it. as long as can anthony can continue bein a wiggle my kids will be happy. good luck to them and god bless

    Reply
  • 9. Angela  |  November 14, 2008 at 12:12 pm

    We love the Wiggles in my home! My son (15 months old) LOVES all four Wiggles! He dances along, and sings! His favorite song is “brown girl in the ring” He says “PLUM PLUM!!”
    Keep on Wiggling!!!

    Reply
  • 10. misty parsons  |  April 8, 2010 at 1:31 pm

    i love the wiggles my niece watched it when she was two and now eight. Now i have my own daugther and she loves you guys to! good job i enjoy my daughter! your childern are beautiful. anthony is my favorite.

    Reply
  • 11. ana  |  June 30, 2010 at 8:32 am

    anthony you made me so much happy when i see you in tv the wiggles show. my live isn’t good but what can i do? i hope that will change anyday….. i love you kisses by a spanish girl

    Reply
  • 12. Cyrus Lesser  |  November 24, 2010 at 9:53 am

    Apparently they refuse to talk to their neighbours – sounds like their public image is a little airbrushed.

    Reply
  • 13. jackie  |  January 12, 2011 at 12:49 pm

    Hey Cyrus, where did you hear that they refuse to tallk to their neighbours. I’ve meet Anthony and thought he was a delight. Unless you specially know his neighbours. I don’t believe it ?

    Reply
    • 14. Cyrus Lesser  |  January 13, 2011 at 6:23 am

      I know someone who knows their neighbours – it’s reliable information

      Reply
      • 15. Julie  |  January 28, 2012 at 10:20 pm

        It’s not true, im the neighbour don’t talk much. But there friends of ours. Come and visit some time?

  • 16. sarale  |  January 24, 2011 at 9:29 am

    i want to meet anthony the blue wiggles

    Reply
  • 17. Cyrus Lesser  |  May 25, 2011 at 12:13 am

    And I’m told that even Anthony’s mother and sister are copping “the treatment’ now! Is it true? I don’t know but I believe the person that told me. It’s consistent with other rumours.

    Reply
  • 18. Jackie  |  October 7, 2011 at 3:27 pm

    Hey i don’t believe it. Their house is huge, with a big fence, you don’t even get to see your neighbours. People just love to trash rich, happy people. Tell them to get a life, Anthony’s only their 4 times a year anyway. Im sure his got better things to do, then talk to nosey neighbours.
    I reackon its crap, Anthony waited for me and my son, when i called his name out in the street. we went up to him, chatted, took a photo, gave him a hug. He was adorable, i don’t believe that he would be so rude. Tell these people to get a life, and stop being so jealous.

    Reply
    • 19. cathy  |  November 14, 2011 at 1:49 am

      Pleople will always be jealous of famous people. Anthony is a man who chose a career to entertain children and all people. Back off give him and his family the privacy they deserve

      Reply
      • 20. Cyrus Lesser  |  November 20, 2011 at 8:10 am

        You believe what you choose to believe. I think the Wiggles are brilliant and do a fantastic job. It doesn’t follow that they are all nice people in private, and it appears that one of them isn’t always.

  • 21. Hannah  |  November 6, 2011 at 10:38 am

    Hey,nice photos

    Reply
  • 22. cathy  |  November 14, 2011 at 1:33 am

    You have beautiful children. Antonio looks like Anthony.

    Reply
  • 23. cathy  |  November 14, 2011 at 1:43 am

    Anthony is my favorite wiggle you can tell he enjoys what he dose. I never liked watching kid show really. But oneday my daughter found these four on TV. We watched it and we were hooked forever.my disabled loves the wiggles

    Reply
  • 24. five mistakes  |  December 9, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    Your blog is pretty cool to me and your topics are very relevant. I was browsing around and came across something you might find interesting. I was guilty of 3 of them with my sites. “99% of site owners are doing these 5 errors”. http://is.gd/jhKkC5 You will be suprised how simple they are to fix.

    Reply
  • 25. Julie  |  January 28, 2012 at 10:19 pm

    I know Anthony personnelly he is lovely, and kind and a true gentleman. He adores his family and would never do anything to hurt them. It’s not true about his neighbours, it’s all made up bullshit.

    Reply
  • 26. CyrusLesser  |  February 1, 2012 at 10:33 pm

    Fabricating your relationship doesn’t help, Julie. The way that Sam Moran was dismissed without Anthony having the courtesy to tell him suggests to me that the rude treatment of the Field’s neighbours has some substance. It doesn’t mean that the Wiggles aren’t terrific – it just means that you have to see them as humans with personality failings instead of as people who can do no wrong.

    Reply
    • 27. Elizabeth  |  March 14, 2012 at 12:29 pm

      Anthony was blindsided by the interviewer re: Sam’s departure. Sam had worked out the details with their manager, and Anthony was not part of the discussions. He was caught off guard. That’s all. He is a lovely person; genuine, caring, and very funny!

      Reply
  • 28. penny  |  April 1, 2012 at 5:58 am

    super cute kids

    Reply
  • 29. penny  |  April 1, 2012 at 5:59 am

    you have a great family

    Reply
  • 30. shawnna taylor  |  April 12, 2012 at 9:37 am

    My son loves the wiggles. I catch my self singing and dancing also. I am 33 and I actually like the Wiggles. Great group of guys and role models for our children. God bless u all.

    Reply
  • 31. poppy  |  January 4, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    wow

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Contact Me

If you have any tips or info you would like to share please email me at maddie-abb@hotmail.com if I hear it from you first I will always thank you in the post.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

